Saturday, August 09, 2008

Challenge | What is this group and who are they?

Hello, good evening! Another quick and easy challenge game, unfortunately, no rewards this time. I just want to know the name of this Brazilian group and the name of each one of the four members. Very easy, but it is a really nice photo, don’t you think?

Hope uEnjoy!

Get a high-res version here.

Dick Farney - JAM | Jazz After Midnight (1956)

Hello, good evening! It is nice to show an album recorded by Dick Farney after a long time. Loronix last Dick Farney release was made on the very beginning of February. This album is really hard to find in its first 1956 issue. This is probably the first Dick Farney album in the 12-inch format, but I’m sure this is the first 12-inch made by Columbia in Brazil. Recorded live at Teatro da Cultura Artistica, Sao Paulo, 11 July, 1956, exactly nineteen years before the passing of George Gershwin. Let’s see.

This is Dick Farney – JAM | Jazz After Midnight (1956), for Columbia, featuring instrumental renditions of George Gershwin music, performed by Dick Farney and top-notch Brazilian Jazz musicians, including the legendary sax player Case, Rubens Barsotti (from Zimbo Trio) and Chou Viana. This is really a JAM session, with no rehearsal by the musicians. Tracks include:


Dick Farney
Rubens Barsotti
Chou Viana

Track List

01 - Strike Up The Band (George Gershwin)
02 - Embraceable You (Ira Gershwin / George Gershwin)
03 - Oh Lady Be Good (George Gershwin)
04 - But Not For Me (Ira Gershwin / George Gershwin)
05 - I Got Rhythm (George Gershwin / Ira Gershwin)
06 - A Foggy Day (Ira Gershwin / George Gershwin)
07 - The Man I Love (Ira Gershwin / George Gershwin)

Thursday, August 07, 2008

Orlando Silva - O Eterno Seresteiro (1969)

Here we go on the last contribution made by my mother a couple of weeks ago, which is an album that I did not know the existence, featuring two important musicians, Orlando Silva, considered by many people (including Joao Gilberto) one of the greatest Brazilian singers of all time and Jacob do Bandolim, the master of bandolim playing, a well-known artist at Loronix. Let’s see.

This is Orlando Silva – O Eterno Seresteiro (1969), for RCA, featuring Orlando Silva backed by Jacob do Bandolim with Conjunto Epoca de Ouro. Little I know about this album, recorded in the same year Jacob do Bandolim has passed, if not the last, it is one of the latest albums recorded by Jacob. Conjunto Epoca de Ouro musicians and arrangers are not credited, but Rildo Hora is credited as artistic coordination and probably has some influence on arrangements. Tracks include.

01 - Serenata do Adeus (Vinicius de Moraes)
02 - Modinha (Jaime Ovalle / Manuel Bandeira)
03 - Falsa Felicidade (Paulo Medeiros)
04 - Misterioso Amor (Saint-Clair Sena)
05 - Volta Para o Meu Amor (Joubert de Carvalho / Tostes Malta)
06 - Um Novo Ceu (Ted Moreno / Fernando Cesar)
07 - Meu Companheiro (Orestes Barbosa / Francisco Alves)
08 - Vidro Vazio (Romualdo Peixoto "Nono" / Orestes Barbosa)
09 - Guacyra (Hekel Tavares / Juraci Camargo)
10 - Modinha (Sergio Bittencourt)
11 - Maringa (Joubert de Carvalho)

Wednesday, August 06, 2008

Challenge | Who is he?

Hello, good evening! Let’s start today with a challenge, featuring an important Brazilian musician in two different moments of his career. A hint, he has some albums available at Loronix. The first to answer correctly wins a Rapidshare 1-Month Premium account. Get the chance!

Hope uEnjoy!

Waltel Branco - Musicas do Seculo XVI ao Seculo XX (1974)

Hello, good evening! It is really nice to be back to Loronix after 2 days of rest, which in fact were taken by lots of very hard and productive work. Miltinho and Doris Monteiro were during this time and I believe it was a great choice. Anyway, the show must go on, and I would like to start with another flawless release sponsored by Jorge Mello, featuring an artist appreciated by our community as a whole. Let’s see.

This is Waltel Branco – Musicas do Seculo XVI ao Seculo XX (1974), for Itamaraty. Actually, this album was first released in 1974 by another label, the tiny Magic Music, and Jorge Mello presents a later Itamaraty reissue, whose date I could not track on my searches. The album is exactly what its title suggests; Waltel Branco delivers violao renditions of music written across the XVI and XX centuries, including his own compositions, such like track 09 – Preludio Sarabanda e Bourree (Waltel Branco), which is also my choice to Loronix Preview Center. Tracks include:

01 - Cancoes do Seculo XVI (Tradicional)
02 - Ballet (Gluck)
03 - Romanza (Schumann)
04 - Valsa Nr 15 (Brahms)
05 - Ballet (Weiss)
06 - Preludio Nr 20 (Frederic Chopin)
07 - Estudos 1 e 6 (Sor)
08 - Sarabanda (Poulenc)
09 - Preludio Sarabanda e Bourree (Waltel Branco)
10 - Preludio Nr 2 (Villa-Lobos)
11 - Andante (Staak)
12 - Moda de Viola (Waltel Branco)

Sunday, August 03, 2008

Doris Monteiro e Miltinho - Doris, Miltinho e Charme Vol. 3 (1972)

Hello, good evening! The albums recorded by Doris Monteiro and Miltinho are among the most requested by our community. They are part of a series called Doris, Miltinho e Charme, with the first being released in 1970, until the last and fourth in 1973. I believe these albums are difficult to find, since it is the first from the series I’m proud to have. I never heard about a single album from this series being released on CD, these albums are really challenging, even if you not a regular Samba listener. Let’s see.

This is Doris Monteiro e Miltinho – Doris, Miltinho e Charme, Vol. 3 (1972), for Odeon, featuring arrangements by Maestro Nelsinho, which is always a guarantee of nice trombone playing and arrangements on top of Samba. I think this third volume is the better than the other two we have already at Loronix, it is better produced, recorded with this truly amazing cover artwork. Maestro Lindolpho Gaya is in charge of music direction, such as many Odeon releases from the early 70’s. Tracks include eighteen songs organized at seven medleys. Tracks include:

01 - Rio-samba (Cezão / Pedro Rainho) Minha Escola (Jair Amorim / Evaldo Gouveia) Sinfonia do Carnaval (Helena de Lima / Concessa Lacerda) Poeira (Telemar / Cléo)
02 - Mas Que Doidice (Antônio Carlos Marques / Jocafi) Até Eu (Baden Powell / Paulo César Pinheiro)
03 - O Amor e a Rosa (Pernambuco / Antônio Maria) Guardei a Rosa (Pernambuco)
04 - Testamento (Toquinho / Vinicius de Moraes) A Vida dos Outros (Antônio Valentim) Dizem Por Aí (Manoel da Conceição / Alberto Paz) Cuidado Com o Andor (Mário Lago / Marino Pinto) Poeira (Telemar / Cléo)
05 - Diz Que Sim (Luis Antônio) Com o Amor Não Se Brinca (Carlito / Romeo Nunes)
06 - Doce Lembrança (Carlito / Waldemar Gomes) Deixa (Vinicius de Moraes / Baden Powell)
07 - Aquele Seu Adeus (Aloísio Marins / José Augusto)