Friday, October 31, 2008

Codo - Coisas da Minha Terra (1978)

Hello, good evening! This is another awesome contribution sponsored by Jorge Mello, featuring – forgive me if I’m wrong – the last album recorded by the Brazilian guitarist Codo, a very important musician acknowledged by many others, such like Elizeth Cardoso and Baden Powell, who wrote a tune dedicated to Codo, Um Abraco no Codo, released on Baden Powell’s 27 Horas de Estudio (1969), Elenco. Let’s see.

This is Codo – Coisas da Minha Terra (1978), for CID, a beautiful celebration to Codo’s music. Codo is backed by a constellation of Brazilian musicians, including Sivuca (also in charge of arrangements), Wilson das Neves, Dino 7 Cordas, Copinha, Neco, Paulo Moura, among many others. Coisas da Minha Terra works under two different concepts. Side A is all instrumental and brings an interview with Codo between the four tracks with the participation of Sergio Cabral, Sivuca and Antonio Mascarenhas. Side B has lyrics with Codo singing, playing and supported by a choir, including Jaime Alem and Nair Candia. Elizeth Cardoso is the special guest on Side A second track, Indecisa Aurora (Codo / Itamar Souza e Silva). Coisas da Minha Terra should address wants and needs of everybody with these two different approaches. Tracks include:


(violao, voice)
Wilson das Neves
Antonio Mascarenhas
Dino 7 Cordas
(violao 7 cordas)
(cavaquinho, guitar)
Deo Rian
Leninha, Nelson
Paulo Moura
(accordion, arrangements)
Jayme Alem, Chico Puppo, Marcos Candia, Nair Candia, Fabiola, Everlin

Special Guest
Elizeth Cardoso

Track List

01 - Nazareth (Codó)
02 - Feitiço da Vila (Noel Rosa / Vadico)
03 - Proesas de Sólon (Pixinguinha / Benedito Lacerda)
04 - Cordinha de Nó (Codó)
05 - Juliana (Codó)
06 - Indecisa Aurora (Codó / Itamar Souza e Silva) with Elizeth Cardoso
07 - Filho da Terra Santa (Antônio Mascarenhas / Erick Medeiros)
08 - Briga de Rei (Codó / Francisco Fiúza)
09 - Saudade de Minha Terra (Codó)
10 - Pra Ribeira Eu Vou (Codó / Salatiel)
11 - Bahia de Encantos (Codó)

Thursday, October 30, 2008

Carmen Costa / Paulo Marquez - A Musica de Paulo Vanzolini (1974)

Hello, good evening! Many thanks to every positive vibration sent at the comment section of my last “getting well” announcement. By the way, this post is so far one of the most commented at Loronix. This kind of support makes me feel great and brings the extra energy needed to develop Loronix according with my new health condition. Thanks a lot!

Anyway, this is a very old contribution made by our good friend Joao SP, an album recorded by one of the singers that I like most at the legendary label Marcus Pereira. I know it was made available before at the recommended Toque Musical, but it is so solid that I think it should be also listed at Loronix. And it has been a long time since we made an authentic Samba release. Let’s see.

This is Carmen Costa / Paulo Marquez – A Musica de Paulo Vanzolini (1974), for Marcus Pereira, featuring compositions by the one of the most important Samba composers from São Paulo state, Paulo Vanzolini. Carmen Costa shares the main performer role with Paulo Marquez, well-known by his excellent album recorded in 1959 with Billy Blanco compositions, featuring arrangements by Maestro Radames Gnattali. Personnel listing does not bring detailed information on musicians in the session, except by the participation of Maestro Portinho and Maestro Elcio Alvarez as arrangers with Regional do Jogral as the accompaniment group. Tracks include:

01 - Mulher Que Não Dá Samba (Paulo Vanzolini) with Paulo Marques / Carmen Costa
02 - Falta de Mim (Paulo Vanzolini) with Carmen Costa
03 - Inveja (Paulo Vanzolini) with Carmen Costa
04 - Ronda (Paulo Vanzolini) with Carmen Costa
05 - Samba Abstrato (Paulo Vanzolini) with Carmen Costa
06 - Sorrisos (Paulo Vanzolini) with Carmen Costa
07 - Teima Quem Quer (Paulo Vanzolini) with Carmen Costa / Paulo Marques
08 - Maria Que Ninguém Queria (Paulo Vanzolini) with Paulo Marques
09 - Menina o Que Foi o Baque (Paulo Vanzolini) with Paulo Marques
10 - Cara Limpa (Paulo Vanzolini) with Paulo Marques
11 - Mulher Toma Juízo (Paulo Vanzolini) with Paulo Marques
12 - Choro das Mulatas (Paulo Vanzolini) with Paulo Marques

Tuesday, October 28, 2008

Toquinho - Ao Vivo em Montreux (1982)

Hello, good evening! I’ve been really waiting for the moment of updating Loronix again. It is really nice to be back. It was a great pleasure to read and approve each comment sent on the last “get well soon” post. Thanks everybody for supporting me and keeping Loronix alive and busy during these crazy days. Loronix community provides personal accomplishments that can only be experienced here, not anywhere else in this world. Thank You!

This is Toquinho – Ao Vivo em Montreux (1982), for BMG Ariola. I could not sleep well today without updating Loronix, and this is a really nice post. I never heard about Toquinho’s participation at Montreux Jazz Festival. As far as I could search, this album never had the chance of a digital release and it is pretty unknown. Toquinho plays, sings and is backed by a constellation of Brazilian musicians, including the legendary bassist Azeitona. Tracks include:


Djalma Correa, Papete
Roberto Sion
(sax, flute)

This album was found MINT and no audio restoration was made.

Track List

01 - À Benção Bahia (Toquinho / Vinicius de Moraes) Tatamirô (Toquinho / Vinicius de Moraes) Meu Pai Oxalá (Toquinho / Vinicius de Moraes) À Benção Bahia (Toquinho / Vinicius de Moraes)
02 - Berimbau (Baden Powell / Vinicius de Moraes) with Papete
03 - Saudade da Bahia (Dorival Caymmi)
04 - Manhã de Carnaval (Luis Bonfá / Antônio Maria)
05 - Asa Branca (Luis Gonzaga / Humberto Teixeira)
06 - Lamento (Pixinguinha / Vinicius de Moraes) with Roberto Sion
07 - Samba Pra Vinicius (Toquinho / Chico Buarque) Felicidade (Tom Jobim / Vinicius de Moraes)
08 - Maria Vai Com as Outras (Toquinho / Vinicius de Moraes)