Thursday, August 20, 2009

Dilermando Reis - Sua Majestade o Violao (1957)

Hello, good evening! I spent a lot of energy trying to make a nice transfer of this beautiful and important album. Unfortunately, the outcome was a little behind the others. Violao solo albums are always difficult to transfer. Sometimes the silence is part of the music and any imperfection becomes easily audible. However, this is an above the average violao only album, recorded by one of the most influent Brazilian violao players, Dilermando Reis. Let's see.

This is Dilermando Reis - Sua Majestade o Violao (1957), for Continental, his 12-inch LP, featuring fascinating Dilermando Reis renditions of classical tunes on side A and Brazilian popular music on side B. I cannot decide which side I like most, but track 05 - Noturno Nº 2 Opus 10 (Frederic Chopin) really made my mind today and it is my choice on our preview feature, available just before the download links. Tracks include:

01 - Malagueña (Ernesto Lecuona)
02 - Pavana (Francisco Tárrega)
03 - Clair de Lune (Debussy)
04 - Romanza (Schumann)
05 - Noturno Nº 2 Opus 10 (Frederic Chopin)
06 - Se Ela Perguntar (Dilermando Reis / Jair Amorim)
07 - Romance de Amor (Vicente Gomes)
08 - Índia (José Asunción Flores / Manuel Ortiz Guerrero)
09 - Foi Bôto Sinhá (Waldemar Henrique / Antônio Tavernard)
10 - Araguaia (Dilermando Reis)
11 - Marcha Triunfal Brasileira (Benedito Chaves)