Wednesday, July 15, 2009

O Quarteto - Antologia da Bossa Nova | 20 Anos Depois (1977)

Do you like vocal groups? I do. It is nice to hear and understand arrangements made for voices and this group excels on this kind of thing. O Quarteto recorded only three albums, two are available here at Loronix, while the third, released in 1969, is totally unknown to my ears. This is a reposting with several improvements, including the FLAC files and high quality front and back cover scans. I will keep my original writing with a few and cosmetic adaptations.

Thanks once again for the successful funding raising campaign we made in just three days. Stay tuned for new features.

Hello, good evening! I feel great today. I think it was a snack that made me feel bad yesterday, nothing better than 12 hours of continuous sleeping to get yourself fixed. Since I feel good, let's have a great start today with a record that I like a lot, taking advantage of the last records picturing Bossa Nova 10, 29, 30 years after. Let's see what we have here.

This is O Quarteto - Antologia da Bossa Nova 20 Anos Depois (1977), for Philips. You probably remember the first O Quarteto LP released at Loronix, but if you don't, O Quarteto is a vocal group that released only two self-titled albums in the late 60's, in spite of the active participation they had on several Festivais da Cancao. Antologia da Bossa Nova 20 Anos Depois was released with an interval of 9 years between the second LP. I do not have available info of the reasons they do not made albums, since they are a great vocal group that is always backed up by renowned musicians, as you can check bellow at personnel listing. Tracks include:



Paulinho Palarico Correa

Walter Gozzo

Carlos Alberto de Lima Vianna

Hermes Antonio Dos Reis

Vocal Arrangements
Carlos Alberto de Lima Vianna & Walter Gozzo

Cesar Camargo Mariano

Cesar Camargo Mariano
(bass, piano, fender, syntorchestra, percussion)
Dudu Fortes
(drums, percussion)
Carlos Alberto de Lima Vianna

Track List

01 - Zelão (Sergio Ricardo) -- O Nosso Olhar (Sergio Ricardo)
02 - A Morte de Um Deus de Sal (Roberto Menescal / Ronaldo Bôscoli) -- O Barquinho (Roberto Menescal / Ronaldo Bôscoli)
03 - Céu e Mar (Johnny Alf)
04 - Vou Deitar e Rolar (Quaquaraquaqua) (Baden Powell / Paulo César Pinheiro) -- Deixa (Baden Powell / Vinicius de Moraes)
05 - Corcovado (Tom Jobim) -- Insensatez (Tom Jobim / Vinicius de Moraes) -- Desafinado (Tom Jobim / Newton Mendonça)
06 - Preciso Aprender a Ser Só (Marcos Valle / Paulo Sergio Valle) -- Samba de Verão (Marcos Valle / Paulo Sergio Valle)
07 - Primavera (Vinicius de Moraes / Carlos Lyra) -- Maria do Maranhão (Carlos Lyra / Nelson Lins e Barros) -- Marcha da Quarta-feira de Cinzas (Vinicius de Moraes / Carlos Lyra)
08 - Oba-lá-lá (João Gilberto)
09 - Moça Flor (Durval Ferreira / Luis Fernando Freire) -- Tristeza de Nós Dois (Durval Ferreira / Maurício / Bebeto)
10 - Manhã de Carnaval (Luis Bonfá / Antônio Maria)


Monday, July 13, 2009

Moraes Moreira - Cara e Coracao (1977)

Hello, good evening! I'm very proud of you. We are very close to reach our goal at another dedicated server campaign. This is really awesome. Thank you! I thought we would not make it this year. And the most important, this kind of initiative is all about commitment, is about my commitment to the community to keep Loronix alive for another year. Anyway, I cannot say anything besides thank you to all and the show must go on. Let's see.

This is Moraes Moreira - Cara e Coração (1977), for Som Livre, which is the second solo LP of Moraes Moreira, founder and perhaps the most successful member of the legendary group Os Novos Baianos, a favorite of many Loronixers. This is the first Moraes Moreira career LP released at Loronix, kindly provided by AdHoc, which is a guarantee of an impeccable transfer, high quality scans and mainly, a very solid listen, as aways. Thanks AdHoc. Tracks include:

01 - O Que É o Que É (Moraes Moreira)
02 - Pombo Correio (Double Morse) (Dodô / Osmar Macedo / Moraes Moreira)
03 - Yogue de Ouvido (Armandinho Macedo / Moraes Moreira)
04 - Às Três da Manhã (Herivelto Martins)
05 - Samba da Bahia de Todos os Santos (Moraes Moreira / Rogério Duarte)
06 - Hino Nordestino (Moraes Moreira)
07 - Meiufin (Moraes Moreira / Chacal)
08 - Davilicença (Armandinho Macedo / Moraes Moreira)
09 - Acordei (Moraes Moreira)
10 - Cara e Coração (Moraes Moreira)