Saturday, January 17, 2009

Claudette Soares - Gil-Chico-Veloso por Claudette Soares (1968)

Hello, good evening! We made a small homage to the Brazilian diva Doris Monteiro a couple of days ago, and now it is time to celebrate another Diva, very connected with Bossa Nova keeping an active and productive career across decades. Claudette Soares. She started very early at 10 singing on radio shows, recording her first album, a 78rpm in 1954. Claudette Soares was also crooner of the legendary Hotel Plaza nightclub, a meeting point in the beginning of Bossa Nova years.

I'm taking a unique Claudette Soares release recorded in 1968, featuring arrangements by Maestro Rogerio Duprat and based on the repertoire of three young Brazilian composers at that time, Gilberto Gil, Chico Buarque and Caetano Veloso. Let's see.

This is Claudette Soares - Gil-Chico-Veloso por Claudette Soares (1968), for Philips, with the not credited participation of Caetano Veloso and Gilberto Gil, performing with Claudette Soares in 11 - Clara (Caetano Veloso) and 12 - Yemanja (Gilberto Gil / Othon Bastos). We have a short and really amazing record here and you can call it whatever you want to call since it has several influences, such like Bossa Nova, Samba, Tropicalia, MPB, etc. My searches were not successful when looking for additional information about this album, perhaps Gil-Chico-Veloso por Claudette Soares never had a chance to be issued in the CD format, which is something I would like to see one day. Personnel listing was not credited by Philips. Tracks include:

01 - Januária (Chico Buarque)
02 - Lia (Caetano Veloso / Gilberto Gil)
03 - Frevo Rasgado (Gilberto Gil / Bruno Ferreira)
04 - Desencontro (Chico Buarque)
05 - Deus Vos Salve Esta Casa Santa (Caetano Veloso / Torquato Neto)
06 - Mancada (Gilberto Gil)
07 - Bandolim (Chico Buarque)
08 - Remelexo (Caetano Veloso)
09 - Domingou (Gilberto Gil / Torquato Neto)
10 - Lua Cheia (Chico Buarque / Toquinho)
11 - Clara (Caetano Veloso) with GILBERTO GIL
12 - Yemanjá (Gilberto Gil / Othon Bastos) with GILBERTO GIL


Wednesday, January 14, 2009

Beth Carvalho - Pandeiro e Viola (1975)

Hello, good evening! I've been receiving messages with compliments and suggestions on the new features implemented at Loronix during the last weeks. I would like to thank everyone who wrote and also thank the whole community for making available our dedicated server with donations last year. Without this dedicated Linux box, all these features would not be viable. I believe Loronix is the only blog to have a dedicated server, which is something that makes me feel really proud and confident in our future. I swear to prepare a message tomorrow to clarify what are these new features and how to get the most from their use. This is only the beginning and the work will be hard in the next months, but it is a very rewarding job.

Finally, part of this work is to visit again all old posts, which is something I do only in situations like this. I do not read download statistics, but they reveal some very interesting things, such as popularity of Beth Carvalho in our community. I believe this release would please many friends. Let's see.

This is Beth Carvalho - Pandeiro e Viola (1975), for Tapecar, featuring arrangements and direction of the legendary Ed Lincoln, coordination a dream team of Brazilian musicians. Beth Carvalho dedicates this record to Nelson Cavaquinho and Guilherme de Brito. Tapecar releases in the mid 1970's are always worth checking, especially if you like Samba. Personnel listing is also a pleasent reading as every album recorded in this decade. Tracks include:


Barbosa, Geraldo da Silva
Esdra Ferreira (Nenen), Geraldo Sabino
Déo Rian, Zé Menezes
Wilson das Neves
Alceu Maia, Canhoto (Waldiro Frederico Tramontano), Carlinhos Antunes, Jonas Pereira da Silva, Neco (Daudeth Azevedo)
Aldo Vale, Alexandre, Luiz Roberto, Luizão Maia
Angela Maria Vianna, Angela Maria Vianna, Arlindo Cruz, Claudionor. Cybele. Eda Ribeiro. Edgardo Luiz, Gelson, Jefferson, Luiz Bandeira, Marlene da Silva, Marly Cardoso, Nilza Maria, Stênio Barcellos, Tufic Lauar
Esdra Ferreira (Nenen)
Altamiro Carrilho, Celso Woltzenlogel, Jorginho da Flauta. Mauro Senise
Wilson Canegal
Claudionor, Jorginho do Pandeiro (Jorge José da Silva)
Chico Batera
Gordinho (Antenor Marques Filho),Luna
Elizeu Felix, Jorge Bezerra, Luna, Marçal (Nilton Delfino Marçal)
Edmundo Maciel, Ari Paulo da Silva, José Cândido, Zdenek Svab
Jorge Bezerra
Neco (Daudeth Azevedo)
(viola 12 cordas)
Dino 7 Cordas, Valdir Silva
(violao 7 cordas)
Zé Menezes
(violao tenor)

Ed Lincoln, Paulo Moura, Orlando Silveira

Track List

01 - Só Queria Ser Feliz (Ruy Quaresma)
02 - O Pior É Saber (Walter Rosa)
03 - Pandeiro e Viola (Gracia do Salgueiro)
04 - Amor Sem Esperança (Dona Ivone Lara / Delcio Carvalho)
05 - Onde Está a Honestidade (Noel Rosa)
06 - Gota D´água (Chico Buarque)
07 - Enamorada do Sambão (Martinho da Vila)
08 - O Dia de Amanhã (Nelson Cavaquinho / Guilherme de Brito)
09 - Amor Fiel (Monarco)
10 - De Novo Desamor (Gisa Nogueira)
11 - Sente o Peso do Couro (Norival Reis / Vicente Matos)
12 - Cansaço (Edmundo Souto / Paulo César Pinheiro)


Monday, January 12, 2009

Marcos Valle - Marcos Valle (1970)

Hello, good evening! This is one of the most requested albums throughout the short Loronix existence, especially in the first six months. My hopes of having this album in our collection were minimal and I believe that everybody understood across time the situation would not easily change from one hour to another. However, there is a network of collaborators around us, able to make surprises at any time. One of the most amazing collaborators strikes again, AdHoc, directly from the European winter to the warm winds of Rio de Janeiro and here for all Marcos Valle's fans around the world. Thanks a lot, AdHoc. Let's see.

This is Marcos Valle - Marcos Valle (1970), for Odeon, featuring Marcos Valle and Paulo Sergio Valle compositions on an album that seems to be a transition from the 1960s Bossa Nova to the more pop oriented sound made by Marcos Valle in the beginning of the 1970s. AdHoc says the Brazilian group Som Imaginario is in this session, which is something we can easily realize by hearing track 09 - Suite Imaginaria (Marcos Valle). Track 06 - Esperando o Messias features The Golden Boys as special guest. Complete personnel listing is not available, but you can fill this time examining this fantastic front and back cover. Tracks include:

01 - Quarentão Simpático (Marcos Valle / Paulo Sergio Valle)
02 - Ele e Ela (Marcos Valle)
03 - Dez Leis (Is That Law) (Marcos Valle / Paulo Sergio Valle)
04 - Pigmalião (Marcos Valle / Paulo Sergio Valle / Novelli)
05 - Que Eu Canse e Descanse (Marcos Valle / Paulo Sergio Valle)
06 - Esperando o Messias (Marcos Valle / Paulo Sergio Valle) with Golden Boys
07 - Freio Aerodinâmico (Marcos Valle)
08 - Os Grilos (Marcos Valle / Paulo Sergio Valle)
09 - Suíte Imaginária (Marcos Valle)
10 - Os Grilos (Marcos Valle / Paulo Sergio Valle) (1967 single version)