Saturday, April 04, 2009

Nilo Sergio, Sua Orquestra e Vozes - Isto e Romance (1962)

Hello, good evening! This is considered by many the best album released by Nilo Sérgio, an important figure in Brazilian popular music. Singer and composer, Nilo Sergio made history as the creator of an independent record label that was always ahead of its time, the legendary Musidisc. This really nice record company released important artists; Trio Surdina is a perfect example. Musidisc was also the record label that started and frequently used artists from other labels hidden by fake names and even artists under contract with Musidisc using English names as a marketing strategy, such like Bob Fleming, the fake name used by Moacyr Silva and Zito Righi to release several blockbusters at Musidisc. Let's see.

This is Nilo Sergio, Sua Orquestra e Vozes - Isto e Romance (1962), for Musidisc, featuring the not credited participation of Ed Lincoln as an organist and probably a maestro in charge of instrumental and voice arrangements. I had a nice week and I hope we will have together a special weekend with our family and friends. I'm leaving and stay tuned for another Brazilian music weekend, probably a "Samba Saturday", which is something still requested by many friends. Tracks include:

Track List

01 - Romantic Partners (Nilo Sergio)
02 - Pescadores de Pérolas (G. Bizet)
03 - Marias de Portugal (Nilo Sergio)
04 - I Love Brahms (3ª Sinfonia) (Brahms)
05 - Sanson Et Dalila (C. Saint / Saes)
06 - Lago dos Cisnes (Tchaikovsky)
07 - My Prayer (Boulanger / Kennedy)
08 - Canção dos Vagabundos (Nilo Sergio)
09 - Serenata (Shubert)
10 - Canção Para Um Homem no Espaço (Nilo Sergio)
11 - Espiral (Nilo Sergio / Ed Lincoln)
12 - I Concetrate On You (Cole Porter)


Wednesday, April 01, 2009

Lyrio Panicali - Lyrio Panicali faz Samba em 2 Tempos (1967)

Hello, good evening! I'm really glad to present another Lyrio Panicali career LP never made available before at Loronix. By the way, the last album with Lyrio Panicali as main performer was released in the remote November 2007, exactly 16 months ago. I made a quick examination at Lyrio Panicali discography and I'm happy to know that we still have several albums never released in CD to show. Some of these albums I never had the chance to see how the cover looks like. Anyway, Maestro Lyrio Panicali is a really special artist and I urge Loronix community to pay attention to this release. I will tell you. Let's see.

This is Lyrio Panicali - Lyrio Panicali faz Samba em 2 Tempos (1967), for Codil Ritmos, featuring Orquestra de Sopros da Radio Ministerio da Educacao e Cultura. This album can easily cheat you at a first sight, but as soon as you spin the first track you understand that you are in front of something very similar to Panicali's Nova Dimensao, an acclaimed album by Samba Jazz fans. This one is very similar and Lyrio Panicali is in front of an Orchestra made of professional musicians from Radio Ministerio da Educacao e Cultura, including the legendary K-Ximbinho. Believe-me, if you are looking for Samba tunes performed by an orchestra with Samba Jazz beat and drumming, this is really worth checking. Tracks include:


Lyrio Panicali
(piano, arrangements, direction)
Waldyr Brito
Sebastiao Barros AKA K-Ximbinho
Giuseppe Sergi
Canuto Pizziali, Jose G de Moura
Mario Roxo, Waldemar G de Moura
Jose Miranda Pinto, Pedro Nogueira Filho
(alto sax)
Fernando Barros Pinto, Adherbal Moreira, Lupercilio Lyra
(tenor sax)
Francisco Monteiro Filho
(baritone sax)
Pedro Vidal Ramos
Luiz Gonzaga Bittencourt
Sebastiao Vieira Gomes
Juvenal Nunes Sampaio Sobrinho

Track List

01 - Bahia (Roberto Menescal / Ronaldo Bôscoli)
02 - Marina (Dorival Caymmi)
03 - Último Desejo (Noel Rosa)
04 - Eu Sem Maria (Dorival Caymmi)
05 - Fita Amarela (Noel Rosa)
06 - Rio (Roberto Menescal / Ronaldo Bôscoli)
07 - Peguei Um Ita no Norte (Dorival Caymmi)
08 - Preciso Aprender a Ser Só (Marcos Valle / Paulo Sergio Valle)
09 - Feitiço da Vila (Noel Rosa)
10 - Das Rosas (Dorival Caymmi)
11 - Feitio de Oração (Noel Rosa / Vadico)
12 - Samba de Verão (Marcos Valle / Paulo Sergio Valle)


Sunday, March 29, 2009

Milton Banana - O Ritmo e o Som da Bossa Nova (1963)

Hello, good evening! I had a day with some surprises, good and bad surprises. Evaluating these ups and downs, I think the balance was not very good, and the best thing to do on these days is to sleep early and wake up on a better shape. However, I'm very happy with the sequel of albums made available at Loronix. Take a look at the last five or eight posts and you should agree with me. We had excellent albums and most of them never had a chance of being reissued on CD.

I believe I made the right choice postponing my sleep time for a few hours. I'm feeling much better right now, especially remembering this album, which is one of the first made available at Loronix and a very important Brazilian instrumental music album featuring Milton Banana, the creator of Bossa Nova drumming style, backed by another legend of the movement, Oscar Castro Neves and Conjunto. This is a required update that you cannot miss. Let's see.

This is Milton Banana e Conjunto de Oscar Castro Neves - O Ritmo e O Som da Bossa Nova (1963), for Audio Fidelity, now available with the original first AF 1984 edition with Milton Banana with the name that made his fame instead of Miltinho from the US release. Conjunto de Oscar Castro Neves is a quartet, but other musicians were in this session and they did not received credits by Audio Fidelity. This is one of those self-explanatory albums. Tracks include:




Oscar Castro Neves
Iko Castro Neves
Henry Perci Wilcox
Roberto Pontes Dias
Leo Wright
(flute, sax)

Track List

01 - Você e Eu (Carlos Lyra / Vinicius de Moraes)
02 - Bossa Nova Blues (Oscar Castro Neves)
03 - Não Faz Assim (Oscar Castro Neves)
04 - Influência do Jazz (Carlos Lyra)
05 - Desafinado (Tom Jobim / Newton Mendonça)
06 - O Amor e a Rosa (Pernambuco / Antônio Maria)
07 - O Apito no Samba (Luis Bandeira / Luis Antônio)
08 - Chora Tua Tristeza (Oscar Castro Neves / Luvercy Fiorini)
09 - O Menino Desce o Morro (De Rosa / Vera Brasil)
10 - Chega de Saudade (Tom Jobim / Vinicius de Moraes)
11 - Boato (João Roberto Kelly)
12 - Samba de Uma Nota Só (Tom Jobim / Newton Mendonça)