Friday, January 23, 2009

Sarah Vaughan - O Som Brasileiro de Sarah Vaughan (1978)

Hello, good evening! I would like to make clear all the difficulties I have to make such music. My musical knowledge is very limited, especially when I leave the safe terrain of Brazilian music. I think I never have something to add on top of what you probably already know. As a matter of fact, Loronix slogan says "Music from Brazil", which represents the music that comes from Brazil, even if it is presented by foreign artists and musicians.

This disc is an example. It has Brazil inside and was recorded by one of the best singers ever known. Definitely, it could not be out of our collection. It has only Brazilian musicians, including a special participation of Maestro Antonio Carlos Jobim. Let's see.

This is Sarah Vaughan - O Som Brasileiro de Sarah Vaughan (1978), for RCA, featuring Sarah Vaughan renditions of well-known Brazilian classics written by Antonio Carlos Jobim, Milton Nascimento, Durval Ferreira, Marcos Valle, Dorival Caymmi, among others. I'm really impressed by the way Sarah Vaughan sings. Tracks include:


piano & arrangements at Triste and Se Todos Fossem Iguais a Voce

voice at Das Rosas

violao & voice at Travessia and Coragem


Milton Nascimento
(voice, violao)
Ze Roberto Bertrami
(organ, piano, arrangements)
Novelli, Sergio Barrozo, Claudio Bertrami
Nelson Angelo
Robertinho Silva, Wilson das Neves
Danilo Caymmi, Paulo Jobim
Chico Batera, Ariovaldo, Luna, Marcal
Helio Delmiro
Edson Frederico
Antonio Carlos Jobim
(piano, arrangements)
Mauricio Einhorn

Aloysio de Oliveira
(Coordenacao & Direcao Artistica)
Durval Ferreira
(Diretor Criativo)

Track List

01 - Bridges (Travessia) (Milton Nascimento / Fernando Brant / Vrs. Gene Lees) featuring MILTON NASCIMENTO
02 - If You Went Away (Preciso Aprender a Ser Só) (Marcos Valle / Paulo Sergio Valle / Vrs. Ray Gilbert)
03 - Triste (Tom Jobim) featuring ANTONIO CARLOS JOBIM
04 - The Day It Rained (Chuva) (Durval Ferreira / Pedro Camargo / Vrs. Ray Gilbert)
05 - A Little Tear (Razão de Viver) (Eumir Deodato / Paulo Sergio Valle / Vrs. Ray Gilbert)
06 - Courage (Coragem) (Milton Nascimento / Vrs. Paul Williams) featuring MILTON NASCIMENTO
07 - Roses And Roses (Das Rosas) (Dorival Caymmi / Vrs. Ray Gilbert) featuring DORIVAL CAYMMI
08 - Someone To Light Up My Life (Se Todos Fossem Iguais a Você) (Tom Jobim / Vinicius de Moraes / Vrs. Gene Lees) featuring ANTONIO CARLOS JOBIM
09 - I Live To Love You (Morrer de Amor) (Oscar Castro Neves / Luvercy Fiorini / Vrs. Ray Gilbert)


Thursday, January 22, 2009

Moacyr Silva Sua Orquestra e Coro - E Tempo de Samba (1963)

Hello, good evening! While waiting for a Moacyr Silva album reissued in the CD format, I would like to reactivate and show an improved version of E Tempo de Samba, which is one of the first vinyl transfers I did to Loronix's community. I will never understand why Moacyr Silva never had a career album reissued. The only way to listen to his music is from the old LPs or from music sharing blogs, such like Loronix. I heard many times that Moacyr Silva can be easily compared with acclaimed Jazz musicians and several friends said that went crazy when spinning his music for the first time. Anyway, this is an early Moacyr Silva album, recorded in 1963, the first he makes backed by an orchestra. Let's see.

This is Moacyr Silva, Sua Orquestra e Coro - E Tempo de Samba (1963), for Copacabana, featuring Moacyr Silva tenor sax backed by orchestra conducted by Maestro Jose Pacheco Lins, also known as Maestro Pachequinho. My apologies to Maestro Diogo Pacheco, which I gave credit as Maestro Pachequinho at the original post and also when I met him personally on a business event in the end of the 1990's. That's all friends! I hope you enjoy Moacyr Silva with Orchestra as I did yesterday and today when writing these lines. I'll be also waiting for Zarville's feedback, Loronix official orchestra album reviewer. Personnel listing was not credited by Copacabana. Tracks include:

01 - A Felicidade (Tom Jobim / Vinicius de Moraes) -- Outro Sol Em Nosso Amor (Jean Pierre / Hélio Augusto)
02 - Do Jeito Que a Gente Quer (Ed Lincoln) -- Menino Desce Daí (Paulinho Nogueira)
03 - Fita Amarela (Noel Rosa) -- Tema da Meia-noite (Nazareno de Brito)
04 - Mulata Assanhada (Ataulfo Alves) -- Na Cadência do Samba (Ataulfo Alves / Paulo Gesta)
05 - Meu Nome É Ninguém (Luis Reis / Haroldo Barbosa) -- Ninguém Sabe de Nós (Antônio Maria / Moacyr Silva)
06 - Gamação (João Roberto Kelly) -- Cravo Vermelho (Pernambuco / Sergio Malta)
07 - O Samba Brasileiro (Claribalte Passos) -- Água Com Areia (Jacobina / Jair Amorim)
08 - Você Passou (Nazareno de Brito / Alcyr Pires Vermelho) -- Deixa a Nega Gingar (Luis Cláudio)
09 - Deixa Andar (Jujuba) -- Ôba (Oswaldo Nunes)
10 - Os Teus Encantos (Moacyr Silva / Antônio Maria) -- História Singular (Armando Cavalcanti / Esdras Pereira da Silva)
11 - Boato (João Roberto Kelly) Um Dono Só (Luis Roberto / Silvério Neto)
12 - Quero Morrer no Carnaval (Luis Antônio / Eurico Campos) -- Brincadeira de Saudade (Ted Moreno / Iná Monjardim)


Monday, January 19, 2009

Ernani Filho - Dois Amigos | As Musicas de Ary Barroso na Voz de Ernani Filho (1963)

Hello, good evening! Since I read Ary Barroso's entry at Musicos do Brasil | Uma Enciclopedia, I started looking for his albums. Ary Barroso is a very important artist. but his discography is not available at Loronix the way I think it should be, no career albums are available, only tribute albums and a collaboration with Dorival Caymmi. Ary Barroso piano is unique and his compositions are part of Brazilian music heritage. He is mentioned on 173 posts at Loronix, which demonstrate his compositions were recorded by many other artists. Let's see.

This is Ernani Filho - Dois Amigos | As Musicas de Ary Barroso na Voz de Ernani Filho (1963), for Odeon, a tribute album recorded by Ary Barroso favorite interpreter, according with Ary Barroso liner notes available at the back cover. This is really interesting. Ernani Filho started his career in 1938, recording several 78RPMs and for reasons that I could not check, he retired early, probably, just before this album, which is the only one recorded in the 12' format and the last Ernani Filho's record. Personnel listing is not available and Ary Barroso participation needs confirmation.

This album is here as a gift of Mauricio Gouveia, the owner of one of the coolest vinyl shops in Rio de Janeiro, Baratos da Ribeiro, in the heart of Copacabana. I urge Loronix's community to visit Mauricio's store following this direction, here. Tracks include:

01 - Balada da Saudade (Ary Barroso)
02 - Tufão (Ary Barroso)
03 - No Rancho Fundo (Ary Barroso / Lamartine Babo)
04 - Ocultei (Ary Barroso)
05 - Maria (Ary Barroso / Luis Peixoto)
06 - Risque (Ary Barroso)
07 - Pierrot (Ary Barroso)
08 - Cantiga de Enganar Tristeza (Ary Barroso / Thiago de Mello)
09 - Já Era Tempo (Ary Barroso / Vinicius de Moraes)
10 - Inquietação (Ary Barroso)
11 - Dois Amigos (Ary Barroso)
12 - Trapo de Gente (Ary Barroso)