Friday, April 10, 2009

Moacyr Silva e Seu Conjunto - Sax Sensacional Nr. 3 (1962)

Hello, good evening! The availability of new albums over time at Loronix is a recurrent and very frequent question. It is natural to think in some point there will be no new albums available. I never had such fear, especially today, which is the day another Moacyr Silva LP never published at Loronix is been released.

This is the eighteenth album with Moacyr Silva participation at Loronix. And this is not a fraction of his entire discography. If you are new to Loronix or new to Moacyr Silva, check the related albums option below and be amazed by his music. Let's see.

This is Moacyr Silva e Seu Conjunto - Sax Sensacional Nr. 3 (1962), for Copacabana, featuring Moacyr Silva tenor sax in front of two bands, a quintet (performing Samba tunes) and a quartet (performing the remaining songs, identified as "Foxes"). Personnel listing features a constellation of Brazilian musicians, including Chaim Lewak (besides Moacyr Silva, the only that performs on both bands), Waltel Branco, Tiao Marinho, Ohana (from Tamba Trio) and a drummer credited as Edson, which is 99.99% guaranteed to be Edison Machado (Luiz Harding, please help!).

We are starting a big weekend in Brazil and I would like to send my positive vibrations to Loronix community, wishing a very nice weekend. Tracks include:


Samba tunes musicians

Moacyr Silva
(tenor sax)
Chaim Lewak
Waltel Branco
Tiao Marinho

Sambas are: 01, 03, 05, 06, 08, 10.

"Fox" tunes musicians

Moacyr Silva
(tenor sax)
Chaim Lewak
Edson (probably Edison Machado)

Foxes are: 02, 04, 07, 09.

Track List

01 - Lamento Bebop (Luis Reis / Haroldo Barbosa)
02 - That Old Feeling (L. Brown / S. Fain)
03 - Olhou Pra Mim (Ed Lincoln / Silvio César)
04 - Don't Blame Me (D. Fields / J. McHung)
05 - Estou Só Outra Vez (Moacyr Silva / Luciana)
06 - Meu Nome É Ninguém (Luis Reis / Haroldo Barbosa)
07 - Sweet And Lovely (G. Arnheim / H. Tobias / J. Lemare)
08 - Parti (Ed Lincoln / Silvio César)
09 - Once In a While (B. Green / M. Edwards)
10 - Seresta de Gato (Waltel / Telmo Soares)


Wednesday, April 08, 2009

Nelson Ferraz - Lamento Negro (1956) Featuring Radames Gnattali

Hello, good evening! I've been a frequent parrot at Rio de Janeiro downtown area in the last two weeks or so. The place has several small used book shops that really worth checking. Today I decided to try a store, just because I was 5 minutes early to a meeting in the building next door. I had five minutes and no guarantees, I did not know if the store was working with LPs, for instance. Sometimes I'm lucky, the owner was starting the LP selling business, without the require knowledge for make correct prices. I could make two wonderful bids in 5 minutes, each one for only 2 reais. This is the first, and I'm pleased to make it here, this is a rather curious disc. Let's see.

This is Nelson Ferraz - Lamento Negro (1956), for Continental, featuring arrangements by Maestro Radames Gnattali. If you are in the mood of a very inquisitive album with a very different music, this is probably the album you were waiting for. Little I know about Nelson Ferraz, which is probably a classical singer, a baritone.

I can read your mind right now making the same association I did with the anthological Orfeu Negro (Black Orpheus). However, it is very unlikely that this disk is part of a theatrical play or movie, is just a career album of a rather unknown and surprising singer backed by Maestro Radames Gnattali. Tracks include:

Track List

01 - Terra Seca (Ary Barroso) Samba
02 - Funeral Dum Rei Nagô (Hekel Tavares / Murilo Araújo) Canto de Alufá
03 - Leilão (Hekel Tavares / Juraci Camargo) Canção
04 - Banzo (Hekel Tavares / Murilo Araújo) Canção
05 - Algodão (Custódio Mesquita / David Nasser) Samba
06 - Navio Negreiro (Alcyr Pires Vermelho / J. Piedade / Sá Róris) Samba
07 - Lamento Negro (Humberto Porto / Constantino Silva "Secundino") Batuque
08 - Preto Velho (Custódio Mesquita / Jorge Faraj) Samba-canção


Monday, April 06, 2009

Francisco Petronio e Dilermando Reis - Uma Voz e Um Violao em Serenata Vol. 2 (1963)

Hello, good evening! If our mission is to tell the story of Brazilian popular music, it would fail if we skip this duo formed by a singer and an instrumentalist. The singer is Francisco Petronio, being introduced for the first time at Loronix, and by the way, an important singer. Francisco Petronio recorded over 50 LPs in a career that started late and lasted no more than two decades. Dilermando Reis does not requires an introduction, his violao is the only instrument heard at this album and this is the first time we have an album by Dilermando Reis accompanying a singer. They recorded together 7 LPs in this series of seresta performance, a genre we are getting along for the first time at Loronix. Let's see.

This is Francisco Petronio e Dilermando Reis - Uma Voz, e Um Violao em Serenata Vol. 2 (1963), for Continental, the second out of seven seresta albums release by the duo. Although the cover in the spirit of a serenata, I think a brief explanation is needed. Seresta or Serenata is music for a lover, in the evening time below the lover or the candidate window. I think it is something that belongs to the past, not the music, but the attitude of singing below someone else window. Anyway, the music speaks by itself. Tracks include:

01 - Sob o Céu de Brasília (Dilermando Reis / José Fortuna)
02 - Reflorir da Minha Vida (Saint-Clair Sena)
03 - A Pequenina Cruz do Teu Rosário (Roberto Xavier de Castro / Fernando Weyne)
04 - Flor do Mal (Santos Coelho)
05 - Última Inspiração (Peterpan)
06 - Serenata (Silvio Caldas / Orestes Barbosa)
07 - Dois Destinos (Dilermando Reis / José Fortuna)
08 - Pálida Morena (Freire Júnior)
09 - Revendo o Passado (Freire Júnior)
10 - Uma Valsa e Dois Amores (Dilermando Reis / José Fortuna)
11 - Não Sei (Francisco Alves / Orestes Barbosa)
12 - Lágrimas (Cândido das Neves "Índio")