Saturday, October 04, 2008

Varios Artistas - Os Cobras (1960)

Hello, good evening! Here we go on the second album provided by the mysterious member of Ignacio’s dynasty, Jose Ignacio Jr. kindly referred as JIN at his close circle of friends in Rio. I’m glad the fire at his grandfather apartment did not burn this album, featuring a constellation of Brazilian musicians. Actually, I did not know this record existence, and it is important to make clear there is another Os Cobras albums in the same concept, released by RCA Victor in 1964, Os Cobras – O LP. Thanks JIN for this solid addition to Loronix. Let’s see.

This is Moacyr Silva, Chaim Lewak, Julinho Barbosa, Waltel Branco, Edmundo Maciel e Paulinho Baterista – Os Cobras (1960), for Copacabana, presented here as a 1970 Beverly reissue, which is Copacabana subsidiary. This album is self explanatory, it impossible to ignore a record featuring such great artists, especially Moacyr Silva, not listed at Loronix first page since the beginning of 2008. Tracks include:


Moacyr Silva
(tenor sax)
Paulinho Baterista
Waltel Branco
Chaim Lewak
Edmundo Maciel
Julinho Barbosa

Track List

01 - Cheiro de Saudade (Djalma Ferreira / Luis Antônio) with Moacyr Silva
02 - Love Or Leave Me (W. Donaldson / G. Khan) with Chaim Lewak
03 - Do Jeito Que a Gente Quer (Ed Lincoln) with Waltel Branco
04 - Doce Melancolia (Julio Barbosa) with Julinho Barbosa
05 - Misty (E. Garner / J. Burke) with Maciel
06 - Menina Feia (Oscar Castro Neves / Luvercy Fiorini) with Chaim Lewak
07 - É Bom Assim (Ed Maciel) with Maciel
08 - Athena (H. Martin / R. Blane) with Moacyr Silva
09 - A Flor do Amor (Waltel Branco / Joluz) with Waltel Branco
10 - Don'cha Go Way Mad (J. Mundy / Al Stilman) with Julinho Barbosa
11 - Bateria Maluca (Orlando Costa ''Maestro Cipó'') with Paulinho Baterista

Wednesday, October 01, 2008

Varios Artistas - Elenco Premiere (1963)

Hello, good morning! My sleeping strategy is completely destabilized this week. I’m working on something that requires an above the average dedication and thinking and as the last activity of my agenda, I’m completely exhausted at Loronix time. Some kind of tractor ray drags me to bed every night. I will try to use a slot during the day to update Loronix and get in touch with the community. Stay tuned, new posts can appear on not usual times this week.

This is the post I’ve been trying to accomplish since Sunday, a response to an increasing demand for authentic Bossa Nova music from the 60’s. Elenco Premiere is the 6th album released by Aloysio de Oliveira legendary Elenco Label as ME-6, a wonderful compilation with tracks taken from the first five Elenco albums, released as ME-1 until ME-5. Let’s see.

This is Elenco Premiere (1963), for Elenco, featuring tracks from the first five Elenco records, Odette Lara & Vinicius de Moraes – Vinicius & Odette Lara (1963) as ME-1, Lucio Alves – Balancamba (1963) as ME-2, Roberto Menescal – A Bossa Nova de Roberto Menescal e Seu Conjunto (1963), as ME-3, Baden Powell – Baden Powell Swings with Jimmy Pratt (1963), as ME-4 and Sylvia Telles – Bossa, Balanco, Balada (1963), as ME-5. Elenco Premier is ME-6, the last 1963 release. These albums covers are amazing and were designed by Cesar Villela, and they have something in common. Who can tell me what it is? Tracks include:

01 - Deixa
05 - Só Por Amor
08 - Berimbau
11 - Hoje Só

03 - Dan-cha-cha
07 - Balançamba

06 - Garota de Ipanema
12 - Desafinado

04 - Menequim 46
10 - Deve Ser Amor

02 - Sol da Meia-noite
09 - Rio

Sunday, September 28, 2008

Artur Verocai - Arthur Verocai (1972)

Hello, good evening! This is probably the most awaited reissue ever at Loronix. The comments section explains and the amount of direct requests made by email messages is countless. By the way, it is important to say that I use to address demands, especially for important albums such like this one. The only reason for taking a lot of time to address this one was the availability. I never had the chance take this one in my hands, such like many others on my hunting list.

However, the community is always rescuing us. We should say many, many thanks to an old contributor that came today out of the blue with this album. The legend rocks and the legend is our very good and connected friend AdHoc. Thanks AdHoc. Let’s see.

This is Arthur Verocai – Arthur Verocai (1972), for Continental, the celebrated Arthur Verocai debut LP, acknowledged my many as ahead of its time by its perfect blend of Tropicalia with American soul and funk. Thanks once again AdHoc, I’m sure you will make the day of many friends. Tracks include:


Helio Delmiro
Robertinho Silva, Paschoal Meirelles
Luiz Alves
Aloysio Aguiar
Nivaldo Ornellas, Paulo Moura
(sax, flute)
Edson Maciel
Celia, D. Carlos, Gilda Horta, Jose Carlos, Luiz Carlos, Paulinho, Toninho Café, Toninho Horta
Arthur Verocai
(voice, guitar)

Track List

01 - Caboclo (Arthur Verocai / Vitor Martins)
02 - Pelas Sombras (Arthur Verocai / Vitor Martins)
03 - Sylvia (Arthur Verocai)
04 - Presente Grego (Arthur Verocai / Vitor Martins)
05 - Dedicado a Ela (Arthur Verocai / Paulinho Tapajós)
06 - Seriado (Arthur Verocai / Vitor Martins)
07 - Na Boca do Sol (Arthur Verocai / Vitor Martins)
08 - Velho Parente (Arthur Verocai / Vitor Martins)
09 - O Mapa (Arthur Verocai / Vitor Martins)
10 - Karina (Domingo no Grajaú) (Arthur Verocai / Vitor Martins)