Wednesday, December 31, 2008

Dorival Caymmi - The Voice and Guitar of Dorival Caymmi (1960)

Hello, good evening! I would like to a Happy New Year to the whole Loronix community and also say THANK YOU for the support and dedication you give to Loronix since May 2006. Thanks once again.

2008 was a special year; however, it was also the year that Dorival Caymmi left us. Thus, I would like to leave 2008 with Dorival Caymmi and this beautiful cover featuring a beautiful panting to send positive vibrations to everybody. This is the US Capitol issue of Odeon's Dorival Caymmi - Eu Nao Tenho Onde Morar (1960), with arrangements by Maestro Lindolpho Gaya. I will keep my original text. Let's see.

This is Dorival Caymmi - Eu Nao Tenho Onde Morar (1960), for Odeon and made available here with an US Capitol reissue, featuring several well-known Caymmi compositions, such as: Rosa Morena, Marina, O que e que a Bahiana Tem, Acalanto among many others. We probably know these tunes through other artists’ interpretation and now it is time to hear how they perform with Dorival Caymmi, who says the only artist that makes definitive versions of his music is Joao Gilberto. Nana Caymmi is special guest on track 04 - Acalanto and Maestro Lindolfo Gaya is in charge of orchestra arrangements. Don't miss Dorival Caymmi's video performing at at Bahia de Todos os Sambas documentary. Tracks include:

01 - Eu Não Tenho Onde Morar (Dorival Caymmi)
02 - Rosa Morena (Dorival Caymmi)
03 - Acontece Que Eu Sou Baiano (Dorival Caymmi)
04 - Acalanto (Dorival Caymmi) with NANA CAYMMI
05 - Vestido de Bolero (Dorival Caymmi)
06 - O Dengo Que a Nega Tem (Dorival Caymmi)
07 - Dora (Dorival Caymmi)
08 - O Que É Que a Baiana Tem (Dorival Caymmi)
09 - A Visinha do Lado (Dorival Caymmi)
10 - Adeus (Dorival Caymmi)
11 - São Salvador (Dorival Caymmi)



Tuesday, December 30, 2008

No Mundo do Samba (1955)

Hello, good evening! I said yesterday that I would be breaking today the series of posts from the 1970's decade with something very old. I'm paying my bill with the oldest album I could find here, from 1955. I love the records made by Musidisc in the 1950's. The artwork is ahead of that time and was probably made by a single person since the style is unique and very easy to identify.

Who is this artist? This is something we can ask to Jorge Mello, just visiting his new website, featuring his writing and Brazilian music vintage pictures never seen before. You can reach the new Jorge Mello's website at Let's see.

This is No Mundo do Samba | Volume 1 (1955), for Musidisc, a compilation of Samba tunes performed by artists from Musidisc cast, featuring Leo Peracchi, Trio Surdina, Britinho, Djalma Ferreira, Roberto Luna and an artist that I never heard before, Rud Wharton, which is probably a well-known musician recording by Musidisc under a nickname. Tracks include:

01 - Gafieira (Djalma Ferreira) Djalma Ferreira
02 - Você É Tormento (Nilo Sergio / Garoto) Leo Peracchi e Orquestra
03 - Vingança (Lupicínio Rodrigues) Trio Surdina
04 - Dora (Dorival Caymmi) Rud Wharton
05 - No Tabuleiro da Baiana (Ary Barroso) Léo Peracchi e Orquestra
06 - Lilian Britinho
07 - Está Desfeito (Manezinho Araújo / David Raw / Aldacir Louro) Roberto Luna
08 - Dia de Sol (João Leal Brito ''Britinho'') - Casinha da Colina (Adpt. João Leal Brito ''Britinho'') Nova Ilusão (José Menezes / Luis Bittencourt) Britinho


Monday, December 29, 2008

Milton Nascimento - Journey to Dawn (1979)

Hello, good evening! I had the feeling that something should be different while preparing this post. But I only understood what was causing this worry a few minutes ago. It was very easy to realize, just look at the last 7 albums and you will see they were released in the 1970's, a big coincidence. I'm now missing the music from previous decades, which are the contributions I like most, for several reasons.

I swear that tomorrow this sequence is interrupted, if possible with something quite old, from the 1950s. Anyway, these are details when we have a record by Milton Nascimento, a good choice to start the last week of 2008. Let's see.

This is Milton Nascimento - Journey to Dawn (1979), for A&M, recorded in the US, featuring Milton Nascimento backed by renowned Brazilian and American musicians. I had a great time with this album today, when I had the chance to hear for the first time. There are some well-known Milton Nascimento tunes here, such like Paula e Bebeto, Unencounter (mostly known as Cancao da America), Maria Maria, O Cio da Terra and my favorite, Credo, also available at Loronix Preview Center. Tracks include:


Milton Nascimento
(voice, violao, piano)
Nelson Angelo
(guitar, violao)
Hugo Fattoruso
(piano, keyboards)
Robertinho Silva
Nana Vasconcellos
Bill Kurausch & Co.
Gayle Levant
Steve Madaio
Chuck Findley
(trumpet, trombone)
Lon Price
(sax tenor)
Jim Price
Adi Moenda, Bell Moenda, Dina Moenda, Lina Moenda, Jim Price, Milton Nascimento, Nelson Angelo, Novelli, Lo Borges, Oscar Castro Neves, Beto Guedes, Maria Fatima, Robertinho Silva, Nana Vasconcellos, Hugo Fattoruso

Track List

01 - Pablo II (Milton Nascimento / Ronaldo Bastos) Pablo (Milton Nascimento / Ronaldo Bastos / Jim Price) Pablo II (Milton Nascimento / Ronaldo Bastos)
02 - Idolatrada (Milton Nascimento / Fernando Brant)
03 - Unencounter (Cancao da America) (Milton Nascimento / Fernando Brant)
04 - Maria Maria (Milton Nascimento / Fernando Brant)
05 - Journey To Dawn (Milton Nascimento / Márcio Borges / Vrs. Gene Lees)
06 - O Cio da Terra (Milton Nascimento / Chico Buarque / Vrs. Jim Webb)
07 - Paula e Bebeto (Milton Nascimento / Caetano Veloso)
08 - Maria Três Filhos (Milton Nascimento / Fernando Brant)
09 - Credo (Milton Nascimento / Fernando Brant)
10 - A Louca (Milton Nascimento)