Saturday, August 15, 2009

Ed Maciel e Sua Orquestra - Na Onda Volume 3 (1967)

Hello, good evening! Here we go with the third volume of this long series of eleven albums called "Na Onda" recorded by this unique Brazilian musician, the trombonist, conductor, arranger and composer Ed Maciel, requested by many Loronix's friends. Na Onda is a rather curious series. The value proposition is based on popular music and popular albums. However, these albums are really hard to find. It is not a matter of commercial failure since the series would never reach eleven albums. Let's see.

This is Ed Maciel e Sua Orquestra - Na Onda Volume 3 (1967), for London, the third out of eleven albums recorded by Ed Maciel and his orchestra, mainly music for dance, very similar to the albums released by Maestro Erlon Chaves’ Banda Veneno Internacional on those nice years. Ed Maciel made a large contribution to Brazilian instrumental music, but little is available about him, except his entry at Enciclopedia Instrumental Brasileira, available through this link. Tracks include:

01 - Namoradinha de Um Amigo Meu (Roberto Carlos)
02 - Winchester Cathedral (G. Stephens)
03 - See You In September (S. Wayne / S. Edwards)
04 - Gatinha Manhosa (Erasmo Carlos / Roberto Carlos)
05 - Tijuana Taxi (B. Coleman)
06 - Meu Limão Meu Limoeiro (Tradicional)
07 - Cheveux Longs Idées Courtes (J. Halliday / G. Thibaut)
08 - La Poupée Qui Fait Non (M. Polnareff / F. Gérard)
09 - I've Got You Under My Skin (Cole Porter)
10 - Trini's Tune (T. Lopez / L. Kusik)
11 - Black Is Black (M. Grainger / S. Wadey / T. Hayes / Adpt. G. Aber)
12 - Got To Get You Into My Life (John Lennon / Paul McCartney)