Friday, March 07, 2008

Oscar Brown Jr. & Luiz Henrique - Finding a New Friend (1966)

Hello, good evening! We will have a solid start today, showing a contribution coming from a new friend that lives outside of Brazil, probably overseas, carefully prepared and offered with FLAC files and nice hi-res scans of front and back cover. Our international collaborator says that Oscar Brown Jr. and Luiz Henrique deliver a perfect collaboration between a North American artist and a Brazilian artist and this is really worth checking out. Let's see.

This is Oscar Brown Jr. & Luiz Henrique - Finding a New Friend (1966), for Fontana, featuring Sivuca arrangements on tracks 01 - Laia Ladaia, 02 - Nothin' but a Fool and 08 - Dawn Comes Again with Luiz Henrique is in charge of the remaining tracks. Finding a New Friend is all about the friendship of both main performers since the first time they met in 1965 at Greenwich Village Coffee House. The repertoire features a blend of America tunes with Brazilian music, including several songs written by Luiz Henrique in partnership with Oscar Brown Jr. Loronix Preview Center features the title track 07 - Finding a New Friend (Luiz Henrique / Oscar Brown Jr.). Tracks include:

01 - Laia Ladaia
02 - Nothin' but a Fool
03 - Manha de Carnaval (Luiz Bonfa / Antonio Maria)
04 - Much as I Love You (Luiz Henrique / Oscar Brown Jr.)
05 - I had no Idea (Luiz Henrique / Oscar Brown Jr.)
06 - Wham Bam Thank You Mam (Oscar Brown Jr.)
07 - Finding a New Friend (Luiz Henrique / Oscar Brown Jr.)
08 - Dawn Comes Again (Luiz Henrique)
09 - Listen to Me (Luiz Henrique)
10 - The Answer to my Prayer (Oscar Brown Jr.)
11 - Seeing Maria (Luiz Henrique / Oscar Brown Jr.)
12 - Barra Limpa (Luiz Henrique / Oscar Brown Jr.)


frank-oliver said...

This is one of my all time favourite records. Unfortunaly there was up to now no CD-reissue of this album. So I always played my own scratchy LP rip. The sound of this new version by the "new overseas friend" is remarkable. The remastering is a work of art for itself. It nearly sounds as the master tapes. But one mistake is audible in "Manha da carnaval" at 0:34, on the original LP enrique sings the word "cantando...", this is missing here, perhaps it is a transfer problem. But thank you for this nearly perfect post of a perfect record.

colin said...

Just absorbing this now. Very nice!. I really loved the Henrigue / Wanderley - Popcorn post from a while back too.
Many thanks