Wednesday, May 21, 2008

Luiz Eca - Laços Concerto Show (1976)

Hello, good evening! Tonight we will have a really unusual record, which is an album that I have been tracking down with Caetano Rodrigues for more than a year, placing search alerts on e-bay and regularly searching other places at the Internet. I cannot remember exactly, but I think everything started whe we identified Luiz Eca at the left with that big hair. I cannot remember also the reason why we named this album as Quarteto Lacos, as the cover shows only a trio with Luizinho Eca, Claudia Versiani and Marcos Paulo, which I think it is the same Brazilian actor Marcos Paulo. Anyway, Jorge Mello should receive all credits and compliments for sending this one from his private collection. Let's see what we have here.

This is Lacos Concerto Show (1976), for Som Livre. Little I know about this live recording, except the reviews I read on e-bay and popsike saying it is has some killer funky fusion tracks, great electric keys, sticking percussion and cool treated wah wah guitar cuts with great scat voice. There is a quartet backing the trio of main performers, featuring Claudio Caribe, Helio Delmiro, Luizao and Marcio Montarroyos, which is probably the real Quarteto Lacos. Due some speaking between music during a live concert, it was not possible to deliver individual tracks, so you will find a single file for side A and another single file for the whole side B. Tracks include:


Main Performers

Luiz Eca
(piano, electric piano)
Claudia Versiani
Marcos Paulo

Quarteto Lacos

Claudio Caribe
Helio Delmiro
Marcio Montarroyos

Track List

01 - Makaha (Márcio Montarroyos) with Luiz Eça
02 - Odes de Ricardo Reis (Fernando Pessoa) Poema with Marcos Paulo
03 - Casa Forte (Edu Lobo) with Cláudia Versiani
04 - Laços (Edu Lobo / Geraldo Carneiro) with Cláudia Versiani
05 - Psiquiatria Em Questão (R. D. Laing) Texto with Marcos Paulo
06 - Segue o Coração (Edu Lobo / Gianfrancesco Guarnieri) with Cláudia Versiani
07 - Água e Vinho (Egberto Gismonti / Geraldo Carneiro) with Cláudia Versiani
08 - Ode Marítima (Ruy Guerra) Poema with Marcos Paulo
09 - Cais (Milton Nascimento / Ronaldo Bastos) with Cláudia Versiani
10 - Velho Arvoredo (Hélio Delmiro / Paulo César Pinheiro) with Cláudia Versiani
11 - Reflexos (Luiz Eça) with Luiz Eça
12 - A Carta (Ruy Guerra) Poema with Marcos Paulo
13 - O Homem (Luiz Eça) with Luiz Eça
14 - Você Vai Me Seguir (Chico Buarque / Ruy Guerra) with Marcos Paulo
15 - Sem Mais Adeus (Francis Hime / Vinicius de Moraes) with Cláudia Versiani
16 - Mestre Bimba (Luiz Eça) with Luiz Eça / Cláudia Versiani

No comments: