Wednesday, September 23, 2009

Lord Astor e Seu Conjunto - E Danca (1961)

Hello, good evening! I am very close to finish an important work to Loronix and also a key effort to bring some relief to the financial problems I'm facing this year. I would love to make the announcement now, but I need some final and necessary adjustments. It is only a matter of days, days of hard work by the way. Meanwhile, I would leave you in with a great record of one of the most important Brazilian instrumentalist, Astor Silva, the legendary trombonist and arranger recording with a fake name of Lord Astor. Let's see.

This is Lord Astor e Sua Conjunto - E Danca (1961), for Imperial, the legendary Odeon door sales subsidiary. We know Imperial uses to reissue Odeon albums with another presentation, but so far I could not identify which original Astor Silva release this album belongs. This cover was also used on another Imperial release, Mike Falcao e Seu Conjunto - No Embalo do Samba (1966), which is Walter Wanderley recording with this fake name. Anyway, better stay with the outstanding Astor Silva playing leading a Conjunto -- credited by mistake as an orchestra -- of unknown musicians. Tracks include:

01 - Agora É Cinza (Alcebíades Barcelos "Bide" / Armando "Marçal")
02 - A Noite do Meu Bem (Dolores Duran)
03 - Copacabana (João de Barro / Alberto Ribeiro)
04 - Fita Amarela (Noel Rosa)
05 - Oh Carol (H. Greefield / Neil Sedaka)
06 - Stardust (H. Carmichael / Parish)
07 - Este Seu Olhar (Tom Jobim)
08 - Feitiço da Vila (Noel Rosa / Vadico)
09 - Dindi (Tom Jobim / Aloysio de Oliveira)
10 - The Diary (Neil Sedaka / Greenfield)
11 - Eu Sei Que Vou Te Amar (Tom Jobim / Vinicius de Moraes)
12 - Laura (J. Mercer / D. Raksin)