Wednesday, January 30, 2008

Joao Gilberto - Joao Gilberto (1970)

I was wondering what to say when releasing this update and I decided to summarize the liner notes written by Julio Hungria in 1970. He says: "in the future, when Brazilian music has an historical approach, the Brazilian music should be divided in two large and different periods. The Brazilian music before Joao Gilberto and the Brazilian music after Joao Gilberto”.

This is Joao Gilberto - Joao Gilberto (1970), for Philips, also known as Joao Gilberto - En Mexico, since it was recorded in Mexico. There is a story behind Joao Gilberto two-year stay in Mexico. Joao was coming back to Brazil after living in New York from a few years and decided to stop in Mexico City for a concert. A one-night stay turned into a two-year and this album is the outcome of Joao Gilberto years in Mexico, featuring a couple of songs with lyrics in Spanish. I will now listen to Joao Gilberto before sleeping, have a nice day and always stay tuned with Loronix. Tracks include:

01 - De Conversa Em Conversa (Lúcio Alves / Haroldo Barbosa)
02 - Ela É Carioca (Tom Jobim / Vinicius de Moraes)
03 - O Sapo (João Donato)
04 - Esperança Perdida (Tom Jobim / Billy Blanco)
05 - Trolley Song (Irving Berlin / Vrs. Haroldo Barbosa)
06 - João Marcelo (João Gilberto)
07 - Farolito (Agustin Lara)
08 - Astronauta (Samba da Pergunta) (Pingarilho / Marcos Vasconcellos)
09 - Acapulco (João Gilberto)
10 - Besame Mucho (Consuelo Velasquez)
11 - Eclipse (Ernesto Lecuona)