Sunday, January 27, 2008

Sebastiao Tapajos - O Violao E... Tapajos (1968)

This is probably the most complex album restoration made so far at Loronix, including cover artworks and especially the music. I had to use that equilibrium of noise reduction against loss of frequencies, and I stood in the middle of it. There are many pops, clicks, clacks and hiss across the music, but this album is so beautiful and so hard to find that I decided to show friends, in spite of these problems. Let's see.

This is Sebastiao Tapajos - O Violao E... Tapajos (1968), for Forma, the second album released by Sebastiao Tapajos, one of the greatest Brazilian guitarists, featuring only Sebastiao Tapajos and his violao, produced by Joao Mello. I think I said what I want in the beginning and this is a self-explanatory release, my apologies for the quality of the transfer. Tracks include:

01 - Doublé (Da Bourrée) (Johann Sebastian Bach)
02 - Canção do Fogo-fátuo (Falla)
03 - Cadência (Do Concerto Para Violão e Orquestra) (Villa-Lobos)
04 - La Catedral (A. Barrios)
05 - Cantiga (Da Suíte Nº 2) (Nicanor Teixeira)
06 - Czardas (V. Monti)
07 - Vento Vadio (Baden Powell)
08 - Carimbó (Sebastião Tapajós / Valmiki)
09 - Crepúsculo (Sebastião Tapajós)
10 - Valsa de Um Sonho (Sebastião Tapajós)
11 - Marambiré (Sebastião Tapajós)
12 - Benzinho (Sebastião Tapajós / Lenora)
13 - Ave-maria (Gounod / Adpt. Sebastião Tapajós)


Bonfáfide said...

Thank you for this magnificent album!
I have been wanting to hear some earlier works by Tapajos for some time, and now I can thanks to Loronix!
For of your efforts, we are all massively in your debt.

ib said...

The care with which you went about restoring the sound through vinyl to digital transfer is appreciated, zecalouro. The quality is excellent. As is the original performance and your endeavours at Loronix to promote Brazillian artists and rare, out-of-print releases.

Muddy said...

Very nicely done. You have danced among the limits imposed by the damaged vinyl, technological possibility, and art.

I hope a clean copy of this finds its way to you, but not until the memory of your labors of restoration has faded.

Thank you.

Richard A. Caraballo said...

This album is amazing. Brigadão!